Relationships and the Human Condition; The Blog and the Blogger

Posted on January 1, 2012

0


Human beings are made for relationship.  In a future post, I may cite the research that supports this assertion, but for now I will ask you to take my word for what we intuitively know to be true of our nature.  As a species, we function poorly in isolation.  For our well being, we need relationships with others.  The quality of those relationships has a tremendous impact on our ability to endure the difficulties that life throws at us.  As infants, a parent or another caregiver may have provided a secure base, a place of safety from which we could explore the world and to which we could return and cling in times of stress or danger.  In adult love, the way we express our needs for connection are different, but our need for a secure base remains.  We need to know that there is someone to whom we matter and who has our back.

This blog is about those significant relationships and how we manage the stresses (and sometimes traumas) of life.  Much research has been done in the last 30 years about adult love relationships, the attributes that make those relationships function well or poorly, how good relationships can be enriched and made more secure, and how distressed relationships can be restored.  As M. Scott Peck observed, “Life is difficult.”  The effects of stressors and trauma can spill over into all areas of life and particularly our relationships.

Whenever one is weighing the relative merit of an opinion, it is a good idea to know a little about the person making the assertions.  Here’s a little about me.  I am a registered marriage and family therapist intern working in private practice in San Diego.  I have been married for 28 years and a parent for 26 years.  I was previously a banker for 25 years.  I have both a Masters in Business Administration and a Master of Arts in Marital and Family Therapy.  My MAMFT is from Bethel Seminary, and I am a Christian.  I was previously a counselor at San Diego Hospice.  In the course of this blog, I will draw on my education and life and clinical experience in an attempt to offer useful information for coping with life’s struggles.  I hope you find some of it helpful.

“I work with individuals, couples, and families to help develop secure connections
and craft manageable solutions.”

More information is available on my website www.scottwoodtherapy.com.  I am also available for speaking engagements, seminars, and retreats http://scottwoodtherapy.com/Page5.html.

Scott Wood is a registered marriage and family therapist intern (IMF67385) and is supervised by Dr. Melinda Reinicke, Psychologist (Psy11011).

